Controversial magazine Zoo Weekly could be in hot water after ACL’s Wendy Francis wrote to Federal Attorney-General George Brandis requesting the publication be re-classified.



Her letter, which was also sent to all state and territory Attorneys-General, comes after a grassroots campaign by activist organization Collective Shout received over 36,000 signatures on a petition asking Coles and Woolworths to stop selling the controversial magazine.



“I am convinced the community would be shocked to learn there are no restrictions on the sale of this highly sexualized magazine,” Mrs Francis said.



“The current classification is totally inappropriate for a publication like Zoo.



“I have asked the Attorney-General to arrange for the publication’s review and to look at reclassifying Zoo”.



Mrs Francis encouraged people to also write to their state Attorney-General and ask for the magazine’s classification to be reviewed.



Click here to read Wendy’s letter to George Brandis (warning, explicit content).



The Hon George Brandis MP, Attorney General senator.brandis@aph.gov.au

The Hon Yvette D’Ath MP, Queensland Attorney General attorney@ministerial.qld.gov.au

The Hon Gabrielle Upton MP, New South Wales Attorney General office@upton.minister.nsw.gov.au

The Hon Martin Pakula MP, Victoria Attorney General martin.pakula@parliament.vic.gov.au

The Hon Michael Mischin MP, Western Australia Attorney General michael.mischin@mp.wa.gov.au

The Hon John Rau MP, South Australia Attorney General agd@agd.sa.gov.au

The Hon Vanessa Goodwin MLC, Tasmania Attorney General vanessa.goodwin@parliament.tas.gov.au

The Hon Simon Corbell MLA, ACT Attorney General corbell@act.gov.au

The Hon John Elferink MLA, NT Attorney General Minister.Elferink@nt.gov.au