Former One Nation leader, Pauline Hanson’s bid to enter the New South Wales Legislative Council came to an end today as the final results of the March election were tallied.

As expected, the Christian Democrats, together with the Shooters and Fishers Party will hold the balance of power jointly.

The NSW Greens picked up one extra seat taking their total to five upper house MPs in addition to new Balmain MP Jamie Parker in the Legislative Assembly.

The Coalition now holds 19 seats in the upper house, Labor 14 seats, the Greens five, with the Shooters and Christian Democrats each holding two seats.

Liberal MLC Don Harwin has been announced as the new President of the Legislative Council.