On Saturday, May 7 2011, voters in the Tasmanian upper house electorates of Derwent, Launceston and Rumney will go to the polls to elect their representatives for the next six years.

The ACL sent a short questionnaire to each candidate contesting the three seats seeking their personal responses to a range of issues of interest to the Christian constituency ranging from gambling and homelessness, through to religious freedom and the rights of the child.

The candidate’s responses to ACL’s questionnaire are available via the links below. Please note this page will be progressively updated as candidates return their responses to ACL.


Phillip Bingley, Greens – declined to respond to ACL questionnaire

Jenny Branch, Independent

Craig Farrell, ALP

Deirdre Flint, Independent

Ray Williams, Independent


Rosemary Armitage, Independent

Steve Bishop, ALP

Lou Clark, Independent

Sam McQuestin, Liberal


Penelope Ann, Greens – declined to respond to ACL questionnaire

Cate Clark, Independent

John M Forster, Independent

Paul Mason, Independent

Tony Mulder, Independent

Lin Thorp, ALP

Murchison – Ruth Forrest will be declared elected on Saturday, May 7 in an uncontested ballot for this seat.