Why your vote for the Upper House matters

The New South Wales Legislative Council often referred to as the Upper House, is one of the two chambers of the New South Wales parliament. Every election NSW chooses 21 Upper House members to serve for eight-year.

The purpose of the Upper House is to provide oversight of, and improvements to legislation that is drafted by the elected government in the lower house.

If you want to hold the government to account and stop radical social policy being progressed in NSW, who you vote for on the big white ballot paper will be vital.

Get to know your Upper House candidates >>